A Digital Comeback

Posted: 14 April, 2017 in Uncategorized

Its been over a year since I last posted anything on this blog. Thank goodness that WordPress doesn’t give up on you and close your blog down when it’s author goes AWOL!

Even before January 2015 when I made my last post, I had begun to write less and less. Well, that isn’t entirely true. I had begun to publish less and less. I continued to put my thoughts down, the old fashioned way – with a pen and paper. What could be the cause of this fade from public exposure, you might wonder. I have been pondering the same recently and I have come up with two answers:

The first is that, by God’s grace, He has been working in me and, I trust, producing a smidgen of humility. As one is exposed to life, you begin to realize your own insignificance – the wealth of fine minds out there can make you feel as if you have very little to offer.

The second reason, and perhaps the dominant one is that in many ways, I am a coward. I grew tired of putting my ideas out there for others to criticize, tear apart, and disagree with so I began to write my thoughts down privately. Of course, this feeling of privacy is only temporary since “…nothing is hidden that will not be made manifest, nor is anything secret that will not be known and come to light.” (Luke 8:17)

I still benefited from the catharsis and meditation of writing my musings down, but not as much as I used to. When you write in the public sphere, it really forces you to critically analyze your views, and open yourself up to correction, which isn’t easy. Things of value rarely are.

So here I am – coaxing the burners to life, and re-greasing the gears. I trust that it will be a positive move from a personal standpoint, and if my thoughts get someone else’s mental machinery working at the same time then that will be a bonus.

Soli Deo Gloria

Leave a Reply

